BREAST CANCER GO AWAY DON’T COME BACK ANY OTHER DAY: My Family history

19 Mar

imagesCAX0E7QM

My story started when I was around 8 and in the 2ND grade. My mom was gone somewhere for a few days but my brother and I did not know where she was.  I remember my dad taking us to a restaurant and telling us” your mom has Breast Cancer and had to have her breast removed. Do not say anything about your mother only having one breast or cancer.” I guess we were supposed to ignore the elephant in the room. My mom was 39 years old when she got diagnosed.

As I got older I came to realize my crappy family history with this disease. My Material grandmother’s sister got Breast Cancer when she was 32 and died at 33 years of age. My Grandmother got Breast cancer at age 40 and it metastasized to the bones in her pelvis , she endured extreme pain till her death 30 years later.  I think I would rather have been dead than deal with her excruciating pain.  Finally, my mom’s cousin got Breast Cancer in her early 50’s.  In 2 generations all the women on my mother’s side of the family except one had breast cancer .  Not to mention my dad’s side of the family where there is one of my Aunts who had Breast Cancer. Not good odds for me in my book.

One Response to “BREAST CANCER GO AWAY DON’T COME BACK ANY OTHER DAY: My Family history”

  1. Julie smith March 20, 2013 at 5:15 pm #

    Kelly, I remember this time of your life too.. Our family is blessed with knowing your family! Thank God tests has grown immensely and we can find out things sooner as long as we have them done. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

