DODGING A SPEEDING BULLET: First genetic testing

20 Mar

bullet

 

My doctor and I knew my family history was not good so my doctor wanted me to start having Mammograms in my early 20. I never had a problem till 1994 I had to have a lump removed thank goodness it was benign. A few years later genetic testing became available my mom got tested since she was the only living women in her family that actually had BC. She was testing for the only 2 Breast Cancer gene mutations known at that time BRCA1 and BRCA2. We both went and  got the results that she was negative for BRCA1 and BRCA2 so if she was negative so I has to be too. Oh boy all my worries were left right then and there.  But the Genetic doctor warned me I was still at high risk due to my family history and there might be a gene associated with BC that has not been identified yet.  I went on with my life thinking I dodged a speeding bullet.

Leave a Reply

