Can I have some of your fat? The line starts at the left…

23 Mar

fat

I went to the plastic surgeon the other day to see what my options were regarding reconstruction after my Preventive Mastectomy. I have to tell you how I met Dr. M, the plastic surgeon first. I pick up shifts at an urgent care center in Southlake. Once I was there, I heard one of the Doctors talking about her husband being a plastic surgeon and how he specializes in Breast reconstruction. God just puts you in the right place at the right time, huh? I got his number and went to see him and I loved him right away.

Ladies, did you know they can make boobs out of fat from your stomach area, butt, and thighs? So not only do you get new boobs, you either get a tummy tuck, butt lift, or thinner thighs, and insurance covers it all. I call that a win-win situation. All I have to say to that is SCORE. (Remember: I am thinking glass half full)

Back to the appointment with the plastic surgeon, he explained in great detail all my options from using my own fat-tissue to implants. There are so many ways to make boobies. I was overwhelmed by it all. He then asked me to undress from the top up, nothing like some man examining your breast while your husband sits on the couch across the room and stares daggers at him. That was too weird for me. Anyway, after he touched, measured, and prodded he decided to play let’s check the fat game. He pinched my fat on my tummy and stated, “We need to do a CAT scan to check the vessels and the fat on your abdomen to see if there is enough.” Really, Mr. plastic surgeon? You really need a CT to check my fat? I can pinch it up for you. There is enough to make some honking breast if you ask me.

Well off to the hospital in April to check my fat with a CT, kind of overkill in my book, but oh well. I am not the doctor, what do I know? I did not even know how they made boobs in the first place.

One Response to “Can I have some of your fat? The line starts at the left…”

  1. Katy April 4, 2013 at 7:53 pm #

    Laughing out loud and the kids are asking me why! Love that you are looking at this glass half full. Love you!

Leave a Reply

