No Guts No Glory… ( Do Not Read If You Have A Weak Stomach )

19 Sep

guts3

Yesterday I was not feeling well I could not pinpoint why I just wasn’t myself.  I have this abdominal incision from hip bone to hip bone,  approximately 2 inches of it was  red, hurting, and has this yucky scab on it.  I happened to have an appointment with the Plastic Surgeon, Dr. M this morning. So I asked him about it.

I am just going to get something out there about me that is kind of weird before I go on. My family and my coworkers know I love, love, love, to pick scabs, peel sunburns, pop pimples and boils, and drain anything with puss in it. I know I just grossed everyone out. Hey, I am a nurse so there you have it.

Back to my appointment this morning. My doctor comes in and looks at the angry area on my incision and says. I think you have a Seroma.  A seroma is a pocket of clear fluid that sometimes develops in the body after surgery. When small blood vessels are ruptured, blood plasma can seep out; inflammation  caused by dying injured cells also contributes to the fluid.

I am numb at the incision right now till the nerves regenerate so I did not feel any pain while the procedure was preformed. My doctor starts off by pulling the scab off a two inch spot on the incision, and cuts the sutures. I told him if I had know he was going to pull that scab off I would have done that at home. Remember by scab picking obsession? I am sure he thought ” Freak.”. Once the sutures were cut there was approximately 6 oz of brown-ish, yellow-ish, red-ish  fluid that  leaked  out. ( I warned you it would be gross. )  He then cut off some dead fat inside the incision. I wanted to say “Dr. M, Honey, you can cut off all the fat you need from me,” but I kept quiet not to embarrass myself even more, since I made the picking scab comment earlier.

Now I have a 2 inch wide and 1 inch  deep opening  on my abdomen  that has to be packed with a wet gauze and a dry gauze place over the top, twice a day. Even though I can do this type of dressing change, I am going to have Ellen, our  high school Senior who wants to be a RN, do it. Nothing like baptism by fire :). Then next time she says ” I hate your guts” she can actually mean it.

Warning do not look at pictures below if you are squeamish:

guts2

6 Responses to “No Guts No Glory… ( Do Not Read If You Have A Weak Stomach )”

  1. goodgollymsmollie September 19, 2013 at 3:41 pm #

    I’m a picker, too (and not a nurse). Wait until stitches start popping out! That’s fun! Glad to hear that it’s just a minor setback in recovery 🙂

    • ktorman67 September 19, 2013 at 7:04 pm #

      Mollie,
      I am glad I am not the only picker in the world. I am so glad the seroma was on my abdomen and not my newly constructed breasts.

  2. Kristi Creed September 19, 2013 at 9:25 pm #

    Wow……now that is a wound. I think that is perfect training for the college-bound nursing student!

    • ktorman67 September 20, 2013 at 7:28 am #

      Kristi I think so too 🙂 She watched me do it last PM and I did it this AM but tonight she is doing it..

  3. robyn923 September 25, 2013 at 8:32 am #

    Allie is in nursing school and talking about going into wound care – she would love to change your dressings!!
    BTW – your stomach looks really flat!! 🙂

    • ktorman67 September 25, 2013 at 9:07 am #

      Robyn,

      Good for Allie. She will love nursing. Must run in the family with Granny and her sisters being nurses and all.

Leave a Reply

