Personal Space Please…

29 Oct

20131029-095843.jpg

Since I have been talking so much about my abdominal wound lately I will lighten the mood and tell you a humorous/ disturbing story that happened to me a few weeks ago.

I had a doctor appt with a doctor not associated with my Mastectomy or reconstruction. It was for something entirely different. Well, this doctor knew about my surgery prior to having it done. I was in his office, and I had my wound VAC on.

We started talking about every thing that was going on and how the surgery went. Just a little side note I had accidentally left home without my bra on and went to my appointment. Yes I can do that now ( jealous?) šŸ™‚

After we finished talking about the surgery the doctor walked over to me. I thought the he was coming over to listen to my heart and lungs but instead the perv. open the collar of my t-shirt and looked down my shirt and said “nice.” I did not know if I should be complimented or offended. When I told my husband about it he was defiantly offended.

Why does crazy crap always happen to me? Moral of the story is always wear a bra to your doctor appointment. šŸ™‚

2 Responses to “Personal Space Please…”

  1. robyn923 November 6, 2013 at 9:23 am #

    Wow – that is not only disrespectful but also sexual harrassment! Do you know this person well? If so maybe forgettable but if jsut a regular provider/patient relationship I would consider looking for a new dr!
    I think back to the gyn I had when I was 18-22 – he was inappropriate in things that he said, etc – but I didnt really pick up on it at the time, I think more because of my naivety – but I wouldnt let that fly today (then again I only go to female gyn’s now šŸ™‚ )

  2. goodgollymsmollie November 12, 2013 at 12:25 pm #

    Totally offended! I can’t even believe that! Although I do know the mastectomy process and how it does feel like we just lift our shirts so easily, all of the time, for everyone, but this is definitely crossing the line!

Leave a Reply

